Summer 2018

Squeaky Wheel is excited to present its Summer 2018 calendar. Featuring the 15th year of our beloved Animation Fest; the first solo exhibition by artist and media theorist Yvette Granata; the summer session of Art+Feminism Wikipedia Edit-a-thon; a live VJ performance by Toronto based artist DJ Xenoyoga; Silent/Sound at the Burchfield Penney with Variations on Napoleon; and much, much more. Check out our full schedule below, and stay tuned for the announcements of our Workspace events in July with our residents!


May 9–May 31, 2018
Exhibition | Experimentation: Works by our Youth Media Makers

Friday, May 11, 2018
7pm
Screening | BRING YOUR OWN TONY

Saturday, May 12, 2018
3pm
Symposium | The Unseen Marion Faller. Pesented by CEPA Gallery.

 

Friday, June 15, 2018, Opening 7–9pm
On view through April 14, 2018
Exhibition | Yvette Granata | #d8e0ea: post-cyberfeminist datum

Saturday, June 23, 2018
2–7pm
Skill Share | Art+ Feminism Wikipedia Edit-a-thon

 

Friday, June 29, 2018
7pm
Performance | XENOYOGA((I REALLY WANT SOME)) by DJ xenoyoga

Friday, July 6
9pm at Secret Site!
Locative Mobile Media Tour with Yvette Granata


Saturday, August 4, 2018
12pm
Squeaky Wheel’s 15th Animation Fest (Screening 1)

Wednesday, August 8, 2018
7pm
Workspace Residency: Public Presentations

Friday, August 10, 2018
8:30pm at the Burchfield Penney Art Center
SILENT/SOUND: Variations on Napoleon

Wednesday, August 15, 2018
6pm
Master Class: DIY Chrome Extensions with Emily Martinez


Saturday, August 18, 2018
1pm
Master Class: Live Mirror, Camera Mirror with Avye Alexandres

Friday, August 24, 2018
8pm
Silo City: The Average Attendee Live in Person by Avye Alexandres

Wednesday, August 29, 2018
5–7pm @ CEPA Gallery
Youth Summer Exhibition & Fall Open House

Thursday, August 30, 2018
1pm at the Burchfield Penney Art Center
Premiere: A Long, Long Now, a film by the Buffalo Youth Media Institute


Squeaky Wheel Film & Media Art Center hosts gallery exhibitions, screenings, and other special events year-round, with visiting artists, special workshops, off-site events at local treasures like Silo City, and much more.

Exhibitions are free for the general public. Squeaky Wheel’s regular events are $7 for the general public, and $5 for members of Squeaky Wheel. Regular events are free for ArtsAccess Pass Holders. You can reserve a seat by calling Squeaky Wheel at 716-884-7172 . ArtsAccess can also provide free transportation if requested at least two weeks ahead of time. Find out how to be a part of the ArtsAccess program here.

Since 2017, Squeaky Wheel has been certified from Working Artists for the Greater Economy (W.A.G.E.), committing to paying all our artists fair wages.



Banner image: Detail of Summer Nights by Savion Mingo. Design by Chris Lee.