Maiko Tanaka, Executive Director
Maiko Tanaka is the Executive Director of Squeaky Wheel. She holds a BFA from OCADU and a Masters of Visual Studies from the University of Toronto. For over ten years Maiko has curated projects with prestigious and widely recognized arts institutions in Canada and abroad, including Trinity Square Video, Nuit Blanche at OCAD University, Justina M. Barnicke Gallery (now Art Museum – University of Toronto), InterAccess, all in Toronto, as well as Casco – Office for Art, Design, and Theory in Utrecht, NL. Maiko also currently serves on programming committee of Gendai Gallery and editorial advisory of C Magazine. She is the co-editor of several catalogue publications including, The Grand Domestic Revolution Handbook published by Casco and Valiz, and Model Minority, published by Gendai Gallery and Publication Studio.


Mark Longolucco, Technical Director
Mark has been the Technical Director at Squeaky Wheel for 8 years, overseeing the equipment rental program, membership relations, the maintenance of lab facilities, and installation. He instructs various Squeaky Wheel workshops and tutorials, including topics in video production, video editing, and sound recording. He received his BFA from Alfred University in video and sound. Mark continues to make media-based works centered around folk artist storytelling and the elusive nature of the contemporary fact.



Ekrem Serdar, Curator
Ekrem Serdar is the curator at Squeaky Wheel Film & Media Art Center, where he is responsible for the organization’s exhibitions, public programming, and residency program. Previously, he was a programmer with Experimental Response Cinema (Austin, TX) which he co-founded. He is the recipient of a Curatorial Fellowship from the Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts (2017). He is an advisory member of the FOL Cinema Society (Istanbul). His writing has appeared in The Brooklyn Rail, Millennium Film Journal, 5harfliler, Altyazı, among other publications. He is from Ankara, Turkey.


Kyla Gordon, Development Coordinator & Curatorial Research Assistant
Kyla Gordon is the Development Coordinator at Squeaky Wheel where she is responsible for donor communications, planning special events, and sponsorships. The position is made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts under Governor Andrew M. Cuomo’s Regional Economic Development Council Initiative. She also works as the Curatorial Research Assistant at Squeaky Wheel. She is an independent scholar and curator. She received her MA in Visual Culture from New York University, has studied Modern Art at Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, and has BAs in Art History and English from the University at Buffalo, SUNY. She has a background in curatorial work, archives, and arts administration. She has worked in galleries and cultural institutions around the world, including the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Interview Magazine, French Heritage Society, Hallwalls, 80WSE, Shakespeare and Company, and Re:Voir Film Gallery. Her scholarly interests include film studies, fashion, and British history.


Martina LaVallo, Communications & Education Coordinator
Martina is a digital multimedia maker and arts administrator based in Buffalo, NY.  She has helped local artists produce festivals and interned at multiple Buffalo arts organizations, including the Albright-Knox Art Gallery and Squeaky Wheel. For one year she served as an Americorps VISTA member for Squeaky Wheel as the Education Coordinator. In 2019 she started a Girls Who Code club at Squeaky Wheel and was the lead instructor. Martina received her BA in Media Study Production from the Department of Media Study at SUNY University at Buffalo. She is currently pursuing her MA in Arts Management at SUNY University at Buffalo.


Brenda Smith, Accountant/Bookkeeper





Meet our teaching artists


Staff emails
Executive Director, Maiko Tanaka:
Technical Director, Mark Longolucco:
Curator, Ekrem Serdar:
Development Coordinator and Curatorial Assistant, Kyla Gordon:
Communications & Education Coordinator, Martina LaVallo:
Accountant, Brenda Smith:

Board of Directors
President, Dillon Joseph
Vice President, Carl Lee
Secretary, Caitlin Crowell
Treasurer, Fred Meyer
Max Anderson
Andrew Cianflone
Annette Daniels-Taylor
Stephanie Rothenberg
Leonardo Sette-Camara

Advisory Board
Almudena Escobar López, Kathy High, Chris Lee, Louis Massiah, Igor Vamos

Summer 2019 Interns
Kaylee Janowski, Hoang Nguyen, Jacob Panzer, Rachel Witkowski

Past Interns (since 2017)
Morgan Arnett, Lewuga Benson, Timothy Butler, Xiaochen Chang, Caitlin Coder, Joshua Colon, Kayla Jane Cunningham, Diego Diaz, Tiffany Gaines, Leanne Goldblatt, Jamie Hager, Lucy Handman, Connor Hockey, Alex Jaczak, Joshua Jensen, Martina LaVallo, Wenchao Lou, Kaitlyn Lowe, Catalina Matos, Jah’Nease McCullough, Elise Miller, Savion Mingo, Hatim Mohamed, Austin Nagelhout, Kaden Radez, Yiheng Song, Colleen Stapleton, Jess Trainor, Audrey Warner, Alex Whetham, Donald Wullner, Sophia Yung, Jean Zhu, Tabia Lewis.