We're moving!

Squeaky Wheel will be closed for moving Nov. 26, 2014 - Jan. 31, 2015

We need your help, support our Naming Campaign!

Buffalo Youth Media Institute

Squeaky Wheel in conjunction with The Buffalo Center for Arts and Technology Present:

2014 Buffalo Youth Media Institute: "Place Making"

Twelve high school students from Buffalo schools were given access to video equipment and learned the tools and techniques of media production from local teaching artists. This year's participants investigated concepts of place making while exploring communities in and around the City of Buffalo, exposing them to the richness and diversity of landscapes, populations and histories. The group also worked with animation collective Tiny Circus and produced a compelling video examining the problems of racial profiling in our city.


This Tiny Circus film was made during a 4-week workshop with Buffalo Youth Media Institute students. This film explores the issues of racial profiling while documenting the personal experiences of the students in regard to this current issue that needs to change. 

 To veiw past Buffalo Youth Media Institute projects, Click Here

This event is made possible through the generous support of our donors:
The Cameron & Jane Baird Foundation, The Children's Foundation of Erie County, City of Buffalo Cultural Funds, Erie County Cultural Funds, Marks Family Foundation, M&T Bank, New York State Council on the Arts, The Spaulding Foundation, The Margaret L. Wendt Foundation.

  • Subscribe to our mailing list

  • Contact Squeaky

    712 Main Street
    Buffalo, NY 14202

    P: 716-884-7172
    F: 716-886-1619

    Office Hours:
    1pm - 7pm Tuesday - Thursday
    1pm - 5pm Friday & Saturday
    • Staff Members:

    • Executive Director,
      Jax Deluca
    • Technical Director,
      Mark Longolucco
    • Program Coordinator,
      Frank Napolski
    • Youth Education Coordinator,
      Kevin Kline
    • Accountant,
      Brenda Smith
    • Interns

    • Ashley McDonald
    • Joshua Ragland
    • Jordan Washington
    • Jo Wong
    • Board Members:

    • President,
      Andrea Schillaci
    • Vice President,
      Andrea Mancuso
    • Treasurer,
      Terry Mickelson
    • Secretary,
      Brian Milbrand
    • 2nd Secretary,
      J.T. Rinker

    • Kevin Bohner
    • Kevin Christner
    • Joshua Feinstein
    • Ruth Goldman
    • John McKendry
    • Anna Scime
    • Stephen Seerey
    • Alex Spaulding

    • Advisory Board:

    • Tony Conrad
    • Kathy High
    • Louis Massiah
    • Igor Vamos
    • Kyle Marler